A doppelganger's life: you shall go to the ball, Cinderella

30 March 2020

I woke, determined. To do… something.

Today’s announcements: Channel seven news. To think I’ve fallen to watching Channel seven..

That pile of leaf litter and sticks needs to be mulched. I’m going to buy a mulcher – it will be cheaper than hiring and I can put it to work continuously over new jobs. Perhaps you’d better wait till the redundancy payment comes in. But perhaps by then the sticks will be dry and unsuitable for a small mulcher, and also we will have a compost heap in the middle of the lawn the size of a Guy Faulks bonfire.

What is the race?

Heard today from the straw bale supplier that the straw bales will be supplied as soon as she can.

Applied for a job, but I deeply suspect that the way the advertisement was written it was clearly for someone already in the pipeline. No surprise and no recrimination, but it was a little dispiriting.

Attended an online training course for developing your network when job searching. It was a helpful thing that went for a long time. Most of the information I had worked out from other sources, but you are never too old to learn and I was delighted to have learned those extra bits. Still waiting for the trainer who gave explicit instructions on how to make connections on LinkedIn to reply to my connection request.

As the sun was going down, Zach and Leia were playing a boardgame – I could offer some insight on the rules. Gabrielle was jigging around the lounge in a virtual Zumba session. Aidan had disappeared into his nest. Harry, bucket on head, was snoozing on the couch, as was Bindi on the bed. I took a beaker of gin and my sword outside and made a few experimental cuts until my breath was heaving. Then I sat down to contemplate the many people out walking with dogs and kids. More than I’d ever seen on this street before.

The mosquitoes descended en masse.

Leave a comment